top of page

Dog Food Container

Why is it that the minute the word "pet" or "baby" get added to a product, the project automatically becomes like $20 more expensive? I know some things are obviously specifically designed for pets and babies thus causing the increase in price, but a good percentage of the time, the product is the same but just branded differently.


I ran into this exact problem when I wanted a better storage solution for my dogs' food. I went to the pet store and was shocked by what they expected me to pay for a food storage container. After looking at what the pet store had to offer, I headed out to my local big box store. There I purchased an trash can with a spring loaded lid for easy opening and closing.



The trash can was half the cost of what I saw in the pet store and serves the exact same function. The problem? I didn't want people confusing my dogs' food container for a trash can at social gatherings and parties. This is where crafting comes in to save the day!


Using my Silhouette and some Oracle 651, I made this trash can into a clearly and beautifully labeled dog food container.



Now, my dogs have the cutest food container around, and I saved some money!

bottom of page