top of page

Chemistry Clock



Tick, tick, tick... the seconds of the school day tick by...except they don't because I realize my clock has broken. I change the batteries but the second hand just ticks in the same spot without moving the time forward. The nightmare that students (and teachers) have about time standing still has become a reality.


Could I have just bought myself a new clock? Absolutely! However, that's not who I am as a person. I saw my clock breaking as my opportunity to be creative and bring some more science nerd decor to my classroom.


  1. I bought myself a 14" completely flat faced wooden wall clock, but this project could also be accomplished your any large flat object and a clock kit.

  2. Since I needed my clock to become a neutral surface, I spray painted the clock face all one color.

  3. While the spray paint dried, I just on my Silhouette and designed the elements in a large and readable font (Bernard Condensed) and made myself some bubbling beakers to go in the center.

  4. I cut the design out on Oracle 651 vinyl

  5. Once the spray paint had fully dried (follow package instructions), I carefully applied each of my elements in the proper location.

Chemistry clock now ticks away the second in my classroom. I enjoy when students figure out why each elements was chosen for that specific location on the clock. Learning is fun!

bottom of page